VIU Scenery


The Senate is the academic governing body of Vancouver Island University. Senate is constituted under the University Act and is chaired by President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Deborah Saucier. Senate conducts its business through seven Standing Committees, each with specific Terms of Reference.

Senate meets regularly from October - June, typically on the first Thursday of the month at 4 pm.  Meetings will end by 6 pm unless formally extended. The regular Senate meetings are open to the public.

For further information on attending a Senate meeting, contact