VIU Scenery

Indigenous Commitments Committee Membership


President (non-voting)

  • Deborah Saucier

Provost and Vice-President Academic

  • Michael Quinn

Associate Vice-President, Indigenous Education and Engagement

  • Marcia Turner


  • Marlene Rice, Cowichan Campus
  • Geraldine Manson, Nanaimo Campus
  • Eugene Louie, Powell River Campus


  • Patricia O'Hagan, Health and Human Services


  • Michael Calvert, Academic and Career Preparation (Chair)
  • Allyson Anderson, Arts and Humanities 
  • Allyson Fleming, Education
  • Jeanette Schmid, Health and Human Services
  • Martin Martens, Management 
  • Catherine Thomson, Science and Technology
  • Elizabeth McLin, Social Sciences
  • Francois de Jong, Trades and Applied Technology
  • Jessica Gemella, Senate

Indigenous Navigator / Advisor / Counsellor

  • Jennifer Christoffersen


  • Breeanna McCallum-Miller
  • Samantha Allan

Support Staff

  • Sylvia Scow (Vice-Chair)

Community Members

  • Grace Elliott-Nielsen
  • Loretta Hopkins
  • Pamela Lewis

Indigenous Alum

  • Clarissa Peter

Resource Persons (non-voting)

  • David Alexander, Chief Librarian
  • Monique McKay, Director, Office of Diversity, Equity, & Human Rights


  • Kim Warkentine, Administrative Assistant, Office of Indigenous Education & Engagement