VIU Scenery

Indigenous Commitments Committee Terms of Reference


  • president (ex-officio, non-voting)
  • provost and vice-president academic
  • associate vice-president indigenous education
  • 3 elders - selected from and by the viu elders council to represent each of the three campus locations
  • 1 dean - elected by senate (3 year term)
  • 10 faculty members - 1 elected from and by each faculty and 1 elected from and by senate (3 year term) 
  • 1 indigenous navigator/advisor/or counsellor - selected from and by indigenous people in these positions (3 year term)                                       
  • 1 support staff - elected from and by viu indigenous people in support staff positions (3 year term)
  • 2 students - elected from and by indigenous students (1 year term)
  • 3 community members - selected from and by hwulmuxw mustimuxw siiem (2 year term)
  • 1 indigenous alum - nominated by the alumni association and appointed by the president (3 year term)

Resource Persons

  • director of the office of diversity, equity, and human rights
  • head librarian or designate
  • office of university planning and analysis

Provide advice to Senate regarding:

  • indigenization initiatives relevant to academic planning, academic programming, academic support services, or indigenous students
  • indigenous curriculum for courses and programs, including those leading to certificates, diplomas, and degrees
  • identification of educational needs of indigenous peoples relative to first nations, metis, and inuit social and economic needs
  • policy and practice related to truth and reconciliation and the rights of indigenous peoples as per the united nations declaration on the rights of indigenous peoples, and
  • other matters as assigned by Senate


Approved by Senate - December 1, 2022